This newest update is a sick joke, surely
One of the features of the new update is that if you play a video on your phone, it WILL try to connect to the nearest TV and play your video there. It doesn't ask you if you WANT to stream, if you're near a TV that supports YouTube then you WILL be watching it there whether you like it or not.
I have not found any way to turn this off in settings. I don't think this is a "feature," I think it's just how YouTube works now. Just...why? It's not helpful. It doesn't fix any problems with casting videos. It's just obnoxious.
Edit: Forgot to mention. I have Premium, and now any time you play a new video, it adds it to a queue. Video #1 has finished, this other video looks interesting. Click on Video #2. Video #2 is now "Video 2 of 2 in the queue" WHY? This literally makes no sense. Why add it to a queue automatically??????